Unknown or misplaced command: '-SF_INTERP'

Feel free to ask any question here
Post Reply
Belinda
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 11:28 am

Unknown or misplaced command: '-SF_INTERP'

Post by Belinda »

Hello!

I'm trying to interpolate a scalar field from one point cloud to another using the "Interpolate from another entity" tool from the CloudCompare console. To do this, I execute the following command in the Windows command prompt:

Code: Select all

CloudCompare.exe -NO_TIMESTAMP -O -GLOBAL_SHIFT AUTO "C:/Algorithm/input/pointcloud1.bin" -O -GLOBAL_SHIFT FIRST "C:/Algorithm/input/pointcloud2.las" -SF_INTERP LAST -SAVE_CLOUDS
However, this appears to generate the following error:

Code: Select all

Unknown or misplaced command: '-SF_INTERP'
and I am unsure why. I have used this exact code for months on end, and it always worked just fine. Swear I haven't changed anything, apart from introducing a global shift -- but even removing the shift and running my original code without modification now returns the error. The issue appears to spontaneously have come into existence. Moreover, I double checked it with the command line documentation a great many times, and I cannot spot what I seem to be doing wrong.

An example of the console output is attached as an image.
Both clouds appear to load correctly. My largest cloud (pointcloud2.las) is about 5GB in total size. It's very detailed, and a significant amount of accuracy gets lost when translating to the 32 bits representation, hence I make sure to apply global shift to both entities before moving on to interpolation. Looking at the console output, only the LAS cloud seems to actually undergo translation. I presume because the other file is a bin. I've theorized that it might be better to import pointcloud2 before pointcloud1 using the -DEST-IS_FIRST option to set the AUTO shift appropriately, but this ultimately changes nothing, as the algorithm doesn't appear to actually get to the point where this becomes relevant, anyway.

I've checked whether the point cloud format affects the problem (the same issue occurs with .e57 files), verified that both clouds load, and ensured that both clouds overlap in the 3D space. It does not appear to be an issue with the clouds. Additionally, other commands that I run with the clouds (i.e. anything that is not -SF_INTERP) does run successfully. Finally, running "Interpolate from another entity" manually within the CloudCompare GUI does appear to work as expected.

Is it something in my command after all? Or if not, does anyone know what might be causing this issue? I'm running CloudCompare version v2.12.4.
Attachments
CC_error.png
CC_error.png (189.27 KiB) Viewed 2336 times
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7710
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Unknown or misplaced command: '-SF_INTERP'

Post by daniel »

Hi,

The documentation states that this command is only available since version 2.13. I guess that's the main issue? (and yes, you should definitely apply the Global Shift ;).
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
Belinda
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 11:28 am

Re: Unknown or misplaced command: '-SF_INTERP'

Post by Belinda »

Thank you for your reply! Yes, that turned out to be the issue. :) In the many many times I scanned through the documentation, I had consistently missed the version requirement (tunnel vision, I suppose, haha). Turns out CloudCompare had been reinstalled on this particular device and it moved back one version, thus "suddenly" causing the error.

Everything works now!
Post Reply