Hello there,
I am working in command line mode environment.
I have one point cloud (LAS format) and one mesh (OBJ format) data. I am just wondering if is it possible to save those two data in one .bin file?
What I would like for my final product is that when I open the single bin file, both point cloud and mesh will be opened.
I have tried command -save_clouds ALL_AT_ONCE and -save_meshes ALL_AT_ONCE, yet it seems only be able to group its own clouds / meshes.
Is there any way I can work it out? Your help would be highly appreciate.
Thank you!
Command line mode - Output problem
Re: Command line mode - Output problem
Hum, indeed, I don't think it's possible to mix meshes and clouds right now. One would have to update the command line code...
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 6:25 am
Re: Command line mode - Output problem
i see .... I am looking forward to this upgrade. Thank you very much!
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 6:25 am
Re: Command line mode - Output problem
Hi Daniel,
I have other questions that I would like to solve.
1. I have a mesh (OBJ format). When I try to load the mesh model, the global shift window pops out. Is there anyway that I can set it off?
I tried this command and it seems it doesn't work. The output file becomes bin file, yet I want to keep it in obj format.
Cloudcompare -h_export_fmt obj -o -global_shift 0 0 0 "XXXX.obj" -save_meshes
2. I have already calculated the C2M distance (bin format). Is there anyway that I can preset the steps of color scale from 256 to 1024 and check the visible box?
As I will do the automatic calcuation for thousands of data, I would like to preset all of the above settings so that the user can open the files without setting anything.
Sorry for all the troubles that might caused you. I am really appreciate your help.
Have a good weekend!
I have other questions that I would like to solve.
1. I have a mesh (OBJ format). When I try to load the mesh model, the global shift window pops out. Is there anyway that I can set it off?
I tried this command and it seems it doesn't work. The output file becomes bin file, yet I want to keep it in obj format.
Cloudcompare -h_export_fmt obj -o -global_shift 0 0 0 "XXXX.obj" -save_meshes
2. I have already calculated the C2M distance (bin format). Is there anyway that I can preset the steps of color scale from 256 to 1024 and check the visible box?
As I will do the automatic calcuation for thousands of data, I would like to preset all of the above settings so that the user can open the files without setting anything.
Sorry for all the troubles that might caused you. I am really appreciate your help.
Have a good weekend!
Re: Command line mode - Output problem
1. I bet you have to set the output mesh format with -M_EXPORT_FMT
2. You can set a custom color scale (that you should design in the 'Color scale manager' and export as an xml file) with -SF_COLOR_SCALE. However I don't think you can force the color scale to be 'visible' in the BIN file afterwards.
2. You can set a custom color scale (that you should design in the 'Color scale manager' and export as an xml file) with -SF_COLOR_SCALE. However I don't think you can force the color scale to be 'visible' in the BIN file afterwards.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 187
- Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:59 pm
Re: Command line mode - Output problem
the -h_export_fmt command will set the hierarchy file type (used to store cloud and mesh into a single file). The problem is I introduced that for the Ransac plugin to be able to save the resulting mesh and point clouds at the same time, I did not however add a general purpose -save-hierarchy command.
It shouldn't be too difficult to add as it would be pretty similar to the other -save_clouds and -save_meshes commands but would export the export entity would be forced to heirarchy like this:
It shouldn't be too difficult to add as it would be pretty similar to the other -save_clouds and -save_meshes commands but would export the export entity would be forced to heirarchy like this:
Code: Select all
QString errorStr = cmd.exportEntity(clGroup, QString(), nullptr, ccCommandLineInterface::ExportOption::ForceHierarchy);